A Baby Changes Everything

Meet Julia.

This is the bundle of joy responsible for making me a mommy! She came into the world three and a half months ago – on August 6, 2012 at 5:54pm.

Let me backtrack a little bit. Eight months before Julia was born, I didn’t even know she existed when the music director at church asked me to perform the song, “A Baby Changes Everything” for our Christmas concert and also for the Christmas Eve service. The song is written from Mary’s perspective, of course, about how the birth of Christ changed not only her life but the entire course of history. I prepared the song, orchestrated it, and memorized it, and the first performance went beautifully, if not meaningfully. (You can watch it here.) And then a few days later, I found out I was pregnant! Let me tell you – that second performance of “A Baby Changes Everything” was an unforgettable moment in my life. I remember that Christmas Eve, as I played and sang my heart out, I closed my eyes and was overcome with how true the words were. My world had already taken a complete spin when I found out that I was going to become a mother. I knew that everyone would soon be telling me, “A baby changes everything!” and I already knew it was true. But since it was Christmas Eve, I was also wrapping my mind around the fact that the God of the universe had chosen a young woman like me to bear the instrument of His eternal redemption. In a much deeper sense, that baby – Jesus – changed EVERYthing.

So, that is what this blog is about. It’s not only about how my baby has changed my life and the lives of the people around me, but it’s about how Jesus changes everything. Without faith in Christ Jesus, it is impossible to have forgiveness from sin. That is the reason that God the Father sent His Son into the world – to rescue fallen humanity and offer a restored relationship to those who would trust in Christ’s death and resurrection. Being a mother brings me great joy, but the greatest joy is knowing that I have an eternal hope waiting in heaven for me. Amen? Amen!

P.S. When the time came to announce my pregnancy to the high school choir, I wrote new words to “A Baby Changes Everything” and performed it for them. Here’s the video of what happened:

2 thoughts on “A Baby Changes Everything

  1. Did you have any problems to get pregnant? It took me 3 1/2 years after I got married. I would go to the doctor, take tests and all and it seemed like everything was ok with us but it just wouldn’t happen…and then one day I found out I was pregnant! Now we are planning our 2nd baby now that our son is 3 years old.

Leave a Reply

