Going Bananas

Today, we decided to go bananas.

Mashed bananas, that is.

My milk supply has worried me ever since Julia got sick, and then I got sick. Because then I got the world’s worst sinus infection, tried two different antibiotics and a decongestant, and still couldn’t hear out of one ear. Julia’s diminished appetite during her cold followed by my illness was a recipe for a decreased milk supply, and I knew it. And then there’s the fact that she is approaching 6 months, when milk simply isn’t enough to get her all the way through the night. So, sure enough, Julia has started waking up to eat in the middle of the night again.

Which means it’s time to start adding “real food” to her diet.

DSC_6786

I’m a believer in exclusive breastfeeding as long as possible, and had planned on waiting until 6 months to introduce food. But we’re only 2.5 weeks away, and with the sickness and medication and the waking in the night, I didn’t want to starve my baby for 19 more days just because the calendar said she wasn’t 6 months old yet! I did a little research and chose to give her bananas as her first food, given her age and my tendency to lean toward foods that God created ready-made, as opposed to processed rice cereal. Plus, we had ripe bananas on hand already.

DSC_6806

Julia wasn’t quite sure what to think. It was a puzzling experience for her.

DSC_6813 

She was more interested in eating the spoon, and not so much the banana.

DSC_6800

I think she swallowed a total of 3 good spoonfuls, tops, before she started getting squirmy and wanting out of the Bumbo. I knew it would be a messy endeavor, but I wasn’t quite prepared for how much was going to end up on her clothes, her hands, the Bumbo seat, the tablecloth, her feet (?), not to mention her face and bib. Certainly, there were more than 3 spoonfuls of casualties. The biggest problem, I think, was that Julia didn’t understand the need to actually open her mouth. So, most of the time, I was trying to push banana into her closed lips, which was a pretty comical endeavor.

She sure liked getting her mouth wiped at the end!

DSC_6815

So, we have a bit of practicing to do for both of us, I think. I’m not sure that she ingested enough banana calories in the morning or at dinner to make a difference in her evening routine, but we’ll see. Should I try rice cereal next week? What times of the day should I give her food? Should I mix the banana with breastmilk? How do I keep banana from getting smeared all over my house? There are so many things I don’t know! I’m so thankful that every day, I can seek counsel from the One who created my little daughter to begin with. How I need His wisdom!

Mr. Poole took a video of Julia’s first few bites of banana today. Ironically, what cracked us both up SO hard when we watched the video later was not so much Julia’s expressive toes, or even her expressive face – it was MY face! Julia gets her demonstrative facial expressions from her mother, and it is nowhere more evident than in this video, where you can see me doing with my face what I’m trying to get Julia to do with hers! It’s really quite embarrassing. I’m posting this video at the risk of my own reputation as a normal human being.

In totally unrelated news, tonight while Mr. Poole and I were eating dinner, we put Julia in her Bumbo and put her little piano in front of her, right with us ON the dinner table. As she banged away to her heart’s content, I couldn’t help but think to myself, “It really doesn’t get any better than this.” In my soul, I asked, “Can I just ask for one leeeeetle favor, Lord? Can you just possibly maybe let time stand still for the next 70 years? I want to enjoy this moment for the rest of my life!”

But then 20 minutes later, after the dishes were done and Mr. Poole was holding Julia on his lap, sharing the piano bench with me while I rocked out to some Chopin, I thought again, “No, THIS is the moment that I want to last forever.” We were a little family, all cozy and snuggled up next to each other, enjoying each others’ company, and chuckling when Julia reached out with both hands to press the keys. It made my eyes get all watery.

Little girls won’t be little girls forever! They grow up into bigger girls who want to crawl out of your lap and do gymnastics and wear make-up and go to prom and study abroad. But I want my little five-month-old Julia to stay a five-month old for always! They tell me, “It only gets better as they get older!” but I don’t know how it could be true. Life is pretty much as awesome as it gets right now.

DSC_6671

One thought on “Going Bananas

  1. You can easily find the answers to the questions above by checking out some motherhood blogs on the internet or just by asking your Pediatrician Doctor, it’s very simple, trust me!

Leave a Reply

